S’more Banana Pancake

Today was a lazy day. I intended run a solid, slow and steady 9 miles. When I finally dragged my behind out of bed at 10am (Hey, its my last day off before 4-12 hour shifts), I logged onto the weather network to find out what it was lookin’ like outside. It looked pretty dreary. -6, felt like -13 with the wind chill. That is pretty stankin’ good for Saskatchewan this time of year…usually we run -30 or -40(celcius), but it was snowing and I felt cold INSIDE. So I called my running buddies for the day, including Chantel, our newest addition, and cancelled. Thankfully they are aware of my “I dont run in colder than -10” policy.  This means I will have to fit in my 9 miles while working, but its worth it for the lazy day today. Maybe I will get in a few miles on the treadmill this evening. I wouldn’t count on it though.

Chocolate makes everything better. Bad days, broken hearts, and lazy days. I started my day with a science experiment of sorts, but turned out to be THE MOST DELICIOUS BREAKFAST EVER! I love pancakes, so these S’more Bananna Pancake will definately be worked into my pre-long run breakfasts. High in protein, and covered in high calorie goodness, they would have been the perfect pre run boost!!!

S’more Bananna Pancake

Serves 1. 7 Weight Watchers Points Plus.

1/4 cup + 2 tbsp Plain, Non-fat Greek Yogurt (I used Oikos)

1/4 cup Whole Wheat Flour

1 Egg, wisked

1 tsp Baking Powder

1 tsp Cocoa Powder

1 Large Marshmallow, cut into small pieces

1 tbsp Nutella

1 Bananna + 1 tsp sugar

Cooking spray (I use olive oil in a pump)

1. Mix first 6 ingredients.

2. Heat non-stick skillet over medium-high heat, sprayed with cooking spray.

3. Add entire mixture to make one large pancake, or split into two small if you prefer.

4. Flip when starts to bubble, and marshmallow pieces begin to melt.

5. Finish until golden brown on both sides.

6. Cut banana in half and cover in sugar.

7. Add to pan and fry until golden brown and sticky on both sides.

8. Top pancake with nutella spread promptly after cooking, followed by caramelized bananna.

Not a whole lot happened today. We had such the lazy day that I didn’t even accomplish my to do list for the day: clean the bathroom and car, change bedding. I guess it will all have to wait. Have to do the dishes before settling in for some trashy TV and chinese with the hubsters for the night. Hitting the sack early to prepare another week of shift work.

Back to healthy eating, exercise, and motivation in the morning. 😉

One thought on “S’more Banana Pancake

Leave a Reply

