For Carrie Su, Spicy & Sweet Crispy Tofu

This weekend we got absolutely BLASTED with snow. I had to take a running start to even get into my parking spot on the side of the road….And then some jerk decided to shovel all of their snow off the sidewalk, on to my tires while I worked a 12-hour shift. Nice. This picture dosen’t do it justice….but just a sample of the snow I had to shovel out from around my car with my window brush just so I could drive away to get home *some people*:

Image

Anyways. A friend at work C.S. and I were talking about lunch during a slower moment yesterday at work. I told her I made a sweet and spicy crispy tofu that was delicious….but that I just wasn’t feeling for the third meal in a row. C.S. is asian and eats a lot of tofu. She declared she had never heard of such a recipe, laughing! Haha. She told me to post my recipe so she could try it. So. Here it is. Definately one of the easiest, but delicious. Almost seems too simple to post. So Carrie Su…this is for you.

Sweet & Spicy Crispy Tofu

Serves 4

235 Calories per serving

Image

 

1 block extra firm tofu, pressed for 15 minutes to drain extra fluid, cut into 1 inch cubes

1 tsp olive oil

1/4 tsp chili powder + 1/4 tsp salt + 1/4 tsp smoked paprika + 1/4 tsp garlic powder + 1/4 tsp black pepper, mixed in a small bowl

Heat oven to 400 F. In a bowl, mix olive oil and spice mixture. Stir in tofu pieces until covered. Place on parchment of silpat-lined baking sheet. Cook for 25 minutes, turning half way through, boiling for last 5 minutes.

I like to mix mine with about a tbsp of BBQ sauce and serve it over brown rice. This could easily be used as a wrap filler, salad topper, or vegetarian sub for pulled pork in a sandwich!

 

 

Leave a Reply

