Kindness

Week and a HALF (I forgot sunday) weigh in: 193.4 lbs (-0.9 lbs from last week= -1.6 lb total)

Today, for the first time since I was a teenager, I woke up with what felt like a tonka truck on my insides, demolishing my uterus.  T.M.I. Time. I went off birth control back in September. Turns out…it takes A LONG TIME for your body to get rid of all those extra hormones because in DECEMBER I am now experiencing my non-birth-controlled body for the first time in YEARS. Point Blank, amen for birth control.

I had a hot bath this morning, and then was feeling way too tired and nauseated for anything fancy. Whipped out a bowl of cornflakes and added a tbsp of chia seeds and an equal amount of goji berries for some nutritonal punch.

photo-108

Now thanks to some strong advil, heat packs and said bath, I am feeling much better. More emotional than normal. I am finding myself crying at pictures of cute dogs and children, and overly inspired. But hey, I live by the whole everything happens for a reason thing.

So, I want to share a random act of kindness someone gave me. When I was in my second year of university, there was a month in which I was VERY short of cash after paying tuition. I had no clue how I was even going to feed myself that month. On a day where I was feeling pretty hopeless, a woman in my parent’s church named Marcie sent me a card. It told me how much she cared for me, and was praying for me. Inside it was a cheque. She said that she felt on her heart that this is what she was supposed to do with this money. Little did she know, I didn’t even have money to buy groceries this month. I fell to my knees crying. I have never felt so grateful for anything in my entire life. A wave of relief fell over me. This is something she has continued to do. Support me. Marcie has been praying for me, sending gifts, letting me know I am loved for years now. I don’t think she even knows how much every. single. card. means to me. I hope that this is something I can do for someone too one day. I believe that random acts of kindness are contagious. They restore people’s hope in humanity.

Check out these random acts of kindness which brought me to tears on

pinterest:  http://themetapicture.com/16-unbelievable-acts-of-kindness/

In this christmas season, when we are all so focused on what we WANT, what can you do for someone else this month? What can you do to ‘make a difference’?

I have something in mind. I find myself becoming jaded when I work in an area where I see poverty, depression, misuse of the system often. The whole world isn’t like this though. I need to open my mind to help others more. I think it will be our new christmas tradition. Helping someone else in need.

*Learning to be grateful for all the wonderful blessings in my life.*

One thought on “Kindness

Leave a Reply

