Hello World (Whole Wheat Ginger Chew Recipe)

Finally. After 3 days of what felt like the worst illness of my life [turns out that nausea wasn’t hormonal at all…..stomach flu.] I am finally starting to feel alive again. My appetite has returned, I am actually wanting to move off the spot on the couch I have been continually warming for 72 hours, and I can’t WAIT to be out in the fresh air tomorrow. [Work called to tell me I should be isolated for 48 hours to make sure I don’t pass it along…thinking it is some sort of Noro-virus fun]

Unfortunately, my most wonderful husband has now picked it up. Awesome. He started his final exam week today, and today it hit him FULL-FORCE. The poor thing looks terrible. I feel so guilty for passing it on to him….

ImageThat is almost exactly how I looked….including the junk every where. Various types of ginger gravol, normal gravol, acid reducers, etc. (anything I possibly could think of to help), gingerale, crackers and dishes from our dry toast that neither of us have been feeling incredibly awesome to carry to the kitchen.

The only difference with us is that I had a ‘well’ feeling Graeme the first day of my illness who brought me home magazines.

Image

Pet Peeve: Why are they all up in Jessica Simpson’s face about being ‘fat’! She just had a baby 6 months ago and has lost 70 pounds! Thats insane! Good for you J Simp!

I must have been delerious at one point because I thought ‘Hey, Maybe this is a good time to share my oil-cleansing-method progress while I am laid up in bed, puking my guts out. Yep, great idea, my skin looks awesome, therefore I look awesome.’ HA. So wrong. And this is the photo I have for an update now…..ignore the VERY sick girl wearing the skin. LOVING the effects of this method!

photo-113For some reason it is super small. Probably for the best. Note: one small blemish on chin, rest of face smooth and even. I do have a few small blemishes since being sick because the first few days being sick of was a dirty pig and didn’t get off the couch to bath. Ha. Or wash my face. Obviously.

Anyways. Since I was feeling mostly better, and raging with hunger this evening (and our house smelled gross from being cooped up for days), I invented a new cookie recipe. It either turned out FANTASTIC because I was starving…oorrrrrr luck!;) I call them Whole Wheat Ginger Chews.

Enough of my bantering. Here’s the recipe. Enjoy…or don’t? Hopefully I don’t wake up tomorrow without an ounce of hunger and realize they taste terrible!;)[I was using up what I had left in the house: hence a million ingredients. These could easily be made vegan with coconut butter in place of butter and a flax egg in place of the egg.]

Whole Wheat Ginger Chews

Makes 24 cookies

126 Calories per cookie

IMG_0413

3/4 cup margarine or butter

1 egg

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1/4 cup honey

1/4 cup molasses

1 1/2 cup whole wheat flour

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 cup graham cracker crumbs

1 tsp ginger

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp allspice

Preheat oven to 350 F. Cream together wet ingredients in mixer with paddle attachment. In a separate bowl, mix dry ingredients. Add dry to wet while mixing on medium speed in mixer. Dough will be very wet. Scoop rounded teaspoon-fulls onto silpat or parchment lined baking sheet. Cook for 12-14 minutes or until cookies are golden around edges but soft in middle. Cook on baking sheet for 5 minutes before moving to cooling rack to finish cooling.

Leave a Reply

