Diagnosis

This week I recieved a diagnosis. Finally. For the past year, I had been experiencing occasional heart palpitations, weight gain, acne, extreme fatigue, suddent nausea and vomitting etc. I went to discuss all of my results of procedures and labs this week with my doctor who told me I have Poly Cystic Ovarian Syndrome as well as Hypothyroid.

Why do I share this so openly on my blog? Because I am now at a point of confliction. I have passed the 6-week mark for my vegan adventure, and was unsure what kind of lifestyle I wanted to maintain, so I have kept up with it. The problem now is that all of the research I have done regarding PCOS and thyroid conditions suggest that foods containing estrogren (soy) and really bad for the conditions, and symptoms can be heavily decreased by cutting most carbohydrates from the diet (bread, potatoes, rice, etc.). 

While ethically I want to maintain a vegan diet, another part of me just wants to get my symptoms under control. I don’t know how to do that on a vegan diet. I am sure there is a way, but I wonder if going back to eating eggs and low-fat dairy might help me maintain a low-carb diet.

So…Here it is. I may become vegetarian? I may go back to eating fish? I don’t really know….taking it one step at a time! Thanks for all of your support on the vegan journey!

Starting some medications this week as well, hear’s to hoping this gets resolved!

One thought on “Diagnosis

Leave a Reply

