Darkness

Darkness seems fitting. Daylight is elusive these days. The day-t0-day of going to work in the dark and coming home in the dark has begun. Relying on some running-high’s to keep my spirits in check with all of the darkness!

This week marks week one of my advanced 10km training plan. My plan is to train only 10km until christmas and then start half-marathon training again. This should have me ready for the Gopher Attack Half Marathon on April 18th. Well, I should be ready about a month before, but this will allow time for injury/illness/setbacks. Don’t want to set myself up to fail!

Week one is as follows:
5 min. warm up + 4.8 km at a comfortable pace
Cross Train for 45 minutes – Yoga
5 min. warm up + 4 km at 10 km race pace
5 min. warm up + 4.8 km at a comfortable pace
30 minute easy active recovery run

I am really looking forward to be working towards a goal again. Super bummed that we have reached winter weather however. It seems like the next six months will be the hardest six months to run. Pray for warm weather. I don’t do well beyond -15 C. May have to splurg on a track pass so I don’t turn hamster-crazy on the treadmill once we reach the weeks of -40 C.
I least I have my beautiful new mizuno’s to keep my soul warm. 😉

Never give up on a dream because of the time it will take to accomplish it. The time will pass anyway.  Earl Nightingale

Leave a Reply

