Race Jitters!

Image

Well, time is beginning to escape me! ONLY ELEVEN DAYS until the first half marathon of the season. I have one more long run and the a week of rest. My long run last week went exceptionally well thanks to some fantastic friends. I had one friend join me for the first 10km, and the second friend joined in at about 7km for 6km which brought me up to 13km total with friends. I was then on my own to run home after dropping off friend #2 at her car. My watch malfunctioned for about 1.5-2km, so I ended up running somewhere between 17.25 and 17.75 km total. I felt great through the entire run, and I think I have finally mastered fueling! This was an afternoon run, so I was able to sleep in a bit and then I enjoyed some delicious Coach’s Oats- Oh She Glows Cookbook Apple Pie style!=) [I loveeeeee cooked apple dishes since I am allergic to raw ones.] If you haven’t tried Coach’s Oats, DO IT. I found them at costco and they aren’t rolled oats (no gluten)…rather unprocessed oats! Healthier and they cook in just a few more minutes!

Image

I ate these about 3-4 hours before the run topped with drippy almond butter, maple syrup, shredded coconut and sunflower seeds on top! YUM. I drank 2 litres of water + 1.5 Nuun tablets before the run. As for mid-run fueling, I took a package of watermelon Gu gummies. I also brought some shot blocks just in case but didn’t use them. I drank nuun from the camelback whenever I was thirsty (750ml H20 + 2 Nuun tabs) and started eating gummies at 4.6km. By 15km I had run out of water, but I was close enough to home that it was okay, and I had eaten all my gummies. Zero stomach yuck during or after the run! Sucess! My body felt tired, but no aches or pains. The next couple days I did have some back pain, but I think this is due to my lack of abs and could be easily cured with a massage! Anyways, long winded……I am excited to conquer the first race of the year!

Today I am working a night shift, so I am spending the day making sushi, watching HGTV (the hubbie got suckered into buying cable for 6 months *roll eyes*) and meal planning while waiting for G to get home from his first day at his new job!=)

Image

I’ve planned our meals for up until race day! Yay!! Trying to plan in some indulgences so that I dont go crazy and eat fast food or something right before the race- healthIER indulgences. 

I go on vacation starting tomorrow morning, so I will be home every day to make food, stretch and do some easy runs. Grocery day is always friday, so I have a ton of freezer stuff to use before then.

Here’s the plan:

Friday- Pad Thai

Saturday- Spaghettie Squash with ground turkey + mushrooms + peppers

Sunday- Marinated Steak (Ive been promising G for weeks) + Strawberry Spinach Salad + Baked Potatoes

Monday- Leftovers + Potato Omelet Breakfast Bites (pinterest) for breakfasts + One Bowl Vegan Chocolate Cake

Tuesday- Vegan Cheesy Alfredo + GF noodles + Zuchinni

Wednesday- Homemade chicken fingers (crushed rice cereal and spices) + Homemade yam fries + corn

Its all on the up and up from here!! I can’t wait to run this race/prepare for this race as well as watch my husband earn his first half-marathon medal + one of my besties, Grey Robin, earns her first full-marathon medal!

 

Leave a Reply

