Gopher Attack Half Marathon

ImageHappy Easter! Wow! We did it. The first half marathon of the year has finally come, and passed. Grey Robin, G and I travelled to Regina on thursday afternoon to prepare for our race the next day. G and I were running the half marathon (21.1km) [G’s FIRST half marathon], and Grey Robin was running her first full marathon (42.2km). I am beyond thrilled with how G and Grey Robin did! As for myself, this was a personal WORST for time, but we were batteling 50km/hr headwinds as well as rain/freezing rain. I used muscles I didn’t even know existed getting through the wind. By about 16km I had severe shooting pains in my right knee-which was strange since I didn’t have any injury issues during training-I think it may have been due to the extra effort needed to battle the wind. I ended up finnishing in 2:58. VERY SLOW, but I am still SO proud. My goal was soley to finish, and in those conditions it was incredibly hard. I am so proud of myself mentally. I didn’t hit a wall, or ever feel like I couldn’t do it. I was optimistic through the entire race. Yay! The mental battle is always harder than the physical battle for me. I actually starting ugly crying as I crossed the finish line because I was so proud. We didn’t end up getting a group picture, but G and I snapped a selfie quickly before starting…I was so lucky to be able to run the first half with the love of my life.

Image

While I am sick now with a throat/chest viral thing, I am already getting excited for my next race-hopefully May? I just NEED to kick the bad time in the butt!

Note: I didnt get to see Grey Robin cross the finish line….devestating or what?! I had to go to the washroom and held it for so long and when I finally decided to go was when she came in. DARN IT! 

Leave a Reply

