Dairy/Gluten Free Eggs Bene

Cooking is a funny thing for me. It’s in my soul. Some people say they were born to nurse, or born to run, or born to paint; I think I was born to cook. I don’t remeber an age that I wasn’t in the kitchen helping my Dad whip up big dishes full of love and palate tingling excitement. On my deepest, darkest days cooking brings a sense of calm that makes me feel whole. Memories of a beautiful simplistic childhood. One dish can have so much thought, hardwork, love. As the clinche says, it’s the blood, sweat and tears.

For the first time in months, I have a recipe to share. As I woke at 3:32am (not abnormal the day after working nights) and the rain drizzled down I felt that urning inside of me to be challenged; to be with my family; to eat. Poached eggs and hollandaise sauce have intimidated me from the beginning of time. Dramatic? Maybe a little. Any history I had with the two produced memories of too-lemony-greasy sauce and undercooked, falling apart eggs from amature attempts or terrible diners. While neither of these were things I grew up eating, I grew up cooking. I take pride in conquering the seemingly impossible [Oh that mind game…] in the kitchen. Thus, today was the day. My husband was (obviously) still in bed, so it was just me, Julia Child, numerous food blogs and 3 dozen eggs.

Fortunately, it ended up being much simplar than I ever anticipated, and much more decadent than I could have ever imagined. I didn’t waste even one egg. I attempted to do some quality photography along the way but lighting on the dreary early morning, and lack of a camera stand kabunked that idea.

Dairy and Gluten Free Eggs Bene

Image

Serves Two

8 Stems of Asparagus

Olive oil

Salt & Pepper

4 egg yolks

1 tbsp fresh lemon juice

1/2 cup dairy-free solid fat (I used 1/2 vegan margarine and 1/2 coconut oil)

4 whole eggs

First, get your asparagus rolling. Chop off the ends, rinse and place on a foil-lined pan. Drizzle with olive oil, salt and pepper and pop in a 375 degree oven until tender.

Wisk egg yolks and lemon juice until fluffy and doubled in size. Next, over low heat, wisk mixture continuously-being careful not to boil or overheat- until starting to foam around the edges. At this point, begin drizzling in melted fat SLOWLY until incorperated. You may need to remove the mixture from the heat for the last half as to not scramble your eggs- I knew to do this as my egg mixture had thickened to my desired custard consistency. Once the fat has been incorperated, add a pinch of cayenne pepper and a pinch of salt. Taste and season accordingly. Cover with a dish cloth and set aside.

Bring 3 inches water to a boil, and then turn down to less than a simmer-you should only have a few bubbles but a lot of steam. Crack eggs into spice bowls. Lower the bowl to the edge of the water and slowly slip in the egg. Cook for 3 minutes for soft, 3 1/2 minutes for medium soft, and 4 1/4 minutes for hard. Pull out of water and submerge in an icebath to stop cooking process.

Top asparagus with two eggs, and desired amount hollondaise sauce and enjoy the best breakfast of your life. I served mine with bacon and cantalope. If you have leftover sauce (you should)- just add a dash of hot water and wisk to bring back to life to use at a later time.

2 thoughts on “Dairy/Gluten Free Eggs Bene

  1. I love it when you post recipes and this one sounds great! I also just generally love hearing about the passion people have for cooking, as mine is just budding.

Leave a Reply

